Cafes, Restaurants and Dining in Perth, Western Australia.

Celebrate WA Seafood Industry Excellence

Screen Shot 2019-05-01 at 12.15.33 PMThe Western Australian Fishing Industry Council (WAFIC) is delighted to once again host the WA Seafood Industry Awards in 2019. The Awards celebrate our local seafood industry’s value to the State economy and the professionalism and commitment of our fisher men and women in supplying some of the finest seafood in the world to local, national and international markets.

John Harrison, Chief Executive Officer of WAFIC, said that the industry is increasingly faced with difficult times, but the Awards allow for an opportunity to acknowledge the hard work by individuals and teams across WA’s dynamic seafood sector.

“Too often we as an industry are presented with the need to address tough and challenging issues.  The State Seafood Awards are a genuine way to acknowledge those who are proactively trying to make a positive contribution to grow the future of the industry,” he said.

“There are a number of very worthy participants within the industry and across the supply chain including licensed fishermen, processors, exporters, fish wholesalers, aquaculture producers, retailers, restaurants, fish and chips shops, state representatives from government agencies, fisheries policy and decision makers, as well as individuals and businesses involved in the seafood and fishing industry.”

“We are pleased to announce that this year’s Awards will be held on Thursday 25 July and encourage our talented, hardworking and innovative industry members to apply. All applications will go through a rigorous judging process, where three external judges will choose the winners from applications received,” he said.

The 14 Award categories include:

  1. Seafood Restaurant Award
  2. People’s Choice Fish and Chips Award
  3. Fish and Chips Award
  4. Seafood Industry Producer Award
  5. Seafood Business (Large) Award
  6. Seafood Business (Small) Award
  7. Research, Development & Extension Award
  8. Environment Award
  9. People Development Award
  10. Safety Award
  11. Seafood Industry Promotion Award
  12. Young Achievers Award
  13. Michael Kailis Leadership Award
  14. Deckhand Award
highslide wordpress